The Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Phillipe

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Phillipe

Regular price $10.99 Sale

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner!

Now in paperback with a fresh new look, a hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John Green.

Setting: Austin, Texas.

Identifying characteristics: Abundance of food trucks and concert T-shirts worn by adults.

Habitat: 104 degrees. Basically, inhospitable to human life.

Meet Norris Kaplan. As a Black French Canadian (and avid ice hockey fan) who has been recently plunked into Austin, Texas, he is not happy. Norris’s superpower has always been the ability to wield a sharp comeback and keep people at a safe distance. He’ll just do his time there until he can finally go back home.

Having grown up on a steady diet of American TV, Norris knows just what to expect when he starts at a prototypical American high school. Sure enough, he soon encounters:

Aarti, the Manic Pixie Dream Girl: Preys on sexually inexperienced, awkward teen boys

Madison, the Beta Cheerleader: In the middle of the cheerleading pyramid. “Good listener.”