When You Ask Me Where I'm Going by Kaur

When You Ask Me Where I'm Going by Kaur

Regular price $10.99 Sale

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, this stunning debut novel, now in paperback, is a collection of poetry, prose, and two-color illustrations. Jasmine Warga, author of Other Words for Home, called it "a searing and gorgeous debut.”

scream

so that one day

a hundred years from now

another sister will not have to

dry her tears wondering

where in history

she lost her voice

Jasmin Kaur’s novel is divided into six sections that speak to readers with poems and illustrations that explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn’t always hear her and prose that tells the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while living undocumented in North America.

Delving into current cultural conversations including sexual assault, mental health, feminism, and immigration, this narrative of resilience, healing, empowerment, and love will galvanize readers to fight for what is right in their world.